Do you even remember whose Netflix’s account you’re using? Well, let’s just hope you still have some sort of amicable relationship with whoever that is.
Apparently, Netflix will soon be cracking down on password sharing, and it’s testing a new feature to help with this. The new feature will come in the form of alerts, asking users to verify they are authorized to watch on the account to be able to keep watching.
“This test is designed to help ensure that people using Netflix accounts are authorized to do so,” a Netflix spokesperson said in a statement. The company’s terms of service say accounts “may not be shared with individuals beyond your household.”
So when a user selects their profile on a shared Netflix account, a pop-up will ask them to verify the account by confirming with a text or email sent to the account holder. Users can also choose to verify later, in which case, the pop-up will show up again at an undetermined later time. If they can’t confirm they’re an authorized user, viewers will be prompted to set up a new account.
Maybe it’s time for you to add a Netflix subscription to your budget, we all know that that’s the aim of this new feature.