Sterling Gospel Award 2020 nominees are out

Andrei Roper (right) Restaurants of Jamaica Brand Manager shares a moment with Sterling Gospel Music Awards nominee Kevin Downswell. Roper will be representing KFC who sponsors the Legends Awards, while Downswell is nominated in the Male Artiste of the Year category.

The 2020 Sterling Gospel Music Awards show is on track for its biggest year yet as announced by event organiser Basillia Barnaby-Cuff during the recent media launch at the R Hotel in Kingston.

The two day gala event to celebrate the Gospel music industry will take place at the Courtleigh Auditorium beginning on March 13 with the All White Nominees & Sponsors Lyme. March 14 will see the Red Carpet and Awards Ceremony, this year featuring the theme African Pride.

Brian and Basillia Barnaby-Cuff, producers of The Sterling Gospel Music Awards, revealed the nominees of the eighteen categories.

A secondary theme, BGVs In Action, throws the focus on the background vocalists in the business. The Sterling Gospel Music Awards will then honour the winners of each of its eighteen categories and the KFC-sponsored Legends Award.

Gospel artist Marq Johnson gives attendees at the media launch of the 2020 Sterling Gospel Music Awards a taste of what to expect at the March 14 awards show.

Here are the categories:

Album of the Year

  • Kingdom Rhode — Rhoda Isabella
  • I Will Follow — Jermaine Edwards
  • Amazing Praise — Jabez
  • Culture lnvasion — Chozenn

E.P. of the Year

  • Praise You Everyday — Godartiste
  • I’m Ready — Tiffany Levy
  • The Healing Project — Troyton Records

Male Artiste of the Year

  • Jermaine Edwards
  • Kevin Downswell
  • DJ Nicholas
  • Jabez

Female Artiste of the Year

  • Rhoda Isabella
  • Judith Gayler
  • Chevelle Franklyn
  • Carlene Davis

Group of the Year

  • Anointed Musicianz and Singers
  • Perpetual Sounds of Praise
  • Vitalytes
  • Levy’s Heritage

Breakout Sensation

  • Tiffany Levy
  • Johnmark Wiggan
  • Oshane Mais
  • Dweeno

Collab of the Year

  • Christopher Gayle ft. Jermaine Edwards — Only You
  • Johnmark Wiggan ft. Flavia Beswick — Something Good
  • A Better Life — Mykal Malachi and Tiffany Levy

Local Hit of the Year

  • I Will Follow — Jermaine Edwards
  • Give A Little — Tiffany Levy
  • Lights — Kevin Downswell
  • No Weapon — Jermaine Edwards
  • God Will — Flavia Beswick

Local Hit Producer of the Year

  • Jermaine Edwards — Island Worship — I Will Follow
  • Adrian Scarlett — Hitz Factory — Give A Little
  • Troyton — Troyton Music — Lights
  • Theo Tomlinson — GloHeart Music — God Will
  • Troyton — Troyton Music — No Weapon

S.W.I.F.T. Award (Social Media)

  • Kingdom Konnect
  • Tek Me Pikcha
  • Involve Media
  • Gospel Linkup
  • Image Jamaica

Most Rated Radio Programme of the Year

  • Saturday Showcase — Erraldo Budhan — LOVE 101 FM
  • Gospel Light Show — Ava-Gay Blair — Gospel JA FM
  • Youth Connection — DJ Rebirth — LOVE 101 FM
  • Gospel in Motion — Marsha ‘Ali Purple’ Dixon — GG FM

Online Radio Programme of the Year

  • Evening Time with Barrelman — Dwight Ross
  • Praise Without Limits — DJ Robert Ministries
  • My Source Gospel Reggae Show — Kweli Simba & Stephen Murphy
  • Jamerican Gospel Show — Danville

Emcee Extraordinaire of the Year

  • Ian ‘lty’ Ellis
  • Ell
  • Ava-Gay Blair
  • Markland ‘Action’ Edwards
  • Nadine Blair

Event DJ of the Year

  • DJ Supa
  • DJ Rebirth
  • DJ Noi
  • DJ Chinny
  • DJ Sticko

Most Rated Event of the Year

  • National Prophetic Summit
  • Mother of the Year
  • Genesis
  • Surrender Worship Experience

Video of the Year

  • Sold Out — Raheem Betty
  • Kingdom Citizen — LJ Purpose
  • Lights — Kevin Downswell
  • Smile — DJ Zeal
  • Hot — Minister Blessed
  • I Will Follow — Jermaine Edwards

Caribbean Artiste of the Year

  • Positive
  • Saiku
  • Samuel Medas
  • Rizon

International Artiste of the Year

  • Tasha Cobbs-Leonard
  • Mercy Chinwo
  • Kelontae Gavin
  • Lauren Daigle
  • Kirk Franklin