Barbados Tridents win CPL title

Barbados Tridents defeated Guyana Amazon Warriors by 27 runs to crown themselves champions of the Caribbean Premier League on Saturday at Brian Lara Cricket Academy in Trinidad and Tobago.

Winning the toss and electing to bat the Tridents made 171 for six from their allotment of 20 overs and restricted Amazon Warriors to 144 for nine from their 20 overs.


Amazon Warriors were losing their first match of the season, which ended an 11-match winning streak.

It is the second time that Tridents are winning the crown since the competition started in 2013 as they join Jamaica Tallawahs as double winner. Trinbago Knight Riders have won the title three times.


Tridents stifled the Amazon Warriors’ batsmen as only opener Brandon King with 43, contributed significantly to the runs chase. King innings took 33 balls with four fours and one six.

Raymon Reifer took the most wickets for the Amazon Warriors, as he captured four wickets for 24 runs from his four overs.

Earlier when the Tridents batted, openers Johnson Charles and Alex Hales provided the impetus for the innings with a stand of 44 off 32 balls, but they let the gain slipped by losing quick wickets, which included two run outs.

Tridents, however, were able to post a respectable total through an unbroken seventh-wicket partnership by Jonathan Carter and Ashley Nurse, which contributed 63 runs off 31 balls.

Carter top scored with an even 50 from 27 balls with four fours and four sixes as Charles made 39 from 22 balls with six fours and one six.