Cayman joins Caribbean nations to ban UK poultry products

Barbados was the first regional nation to ban poultry imports from UK (Photo:

Cayman has placed a temporary ban on the importation of fresh and frozen chicken meat from the United Kingdom, the European Union and The Netherlands.

The country announced the ban on Monday (December 7) citing the outbreak of the Highly Pathogenic Avian Influenza (HPAI) in sections of Europe.

Minister of Agriculture, Juliana O’Connor-Connolly, said the relevant importers had already been informed about these restrictions, adding that the Agricultural Health Inspection Service Officers would continue to monitor imports closely.

“There is currently an outbreak of Highly Pathogenic Avian Influenza (HPAI) in sections of Europe. Although it is still a developing situation, the Ministry of Agriculture has temporarily restricted the importation of poultry from affected countries to safeguard our local consumers from infection,” said O’Connor-Connolly.

According to the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC), multiple European countries including Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, the Netherlands, Norway, Sweden and the UK have already reported outbreaks of the HPAI viruses.

Barbados was one of the first countries in the region to impose a ban on UK poultry products.