Champs Hydel, Mona advance in Walker Cup

Defending champions Hydel and Mona advanced to the next phase of the ISSA/Digicel Walker Cup schoolboy football knockout competition on Friday (Nov 8) as they recorded respective victory over St Jago and Vauxhall at Spanish Town Prison Oval.

Hydel had a come-from-behind victory over Vauxhall with goals from Tyrees Simms in the 60th minute and Ronel Hines in the 86th. Troy Nosworthy had given Vauxhall a 14th minute goal to take the lead.

Mona defeated St Jago 2-0 with a brace from Mario Simms in the 15th and 54th minutes.

Hydel and Mona join St Catherine and Jonathan Grant in the next stage of the competition. On Thursday (Nov 7), St Catherine had a come-from-behind 2-1 victory over Holy Trinity and Jonathan Grant stopped Eltham 1-0.