Edna Manley gets new board of directors

Cabinet has approved a new Board of directors for the Edna Manley College of the Visual and Performing Arts (EMCVPA).

Street view of the Edna Manley College sign

Marigold Harding remains as chair, along with ex-officio member and Principal of the college, Dr. Nicholeen DeGrasse-Johnson. Donahue Martin also previously on the Board, is vice-chairman. There are six new members: Coleen Douglas, Dr. Tamika Benjamin, Professor Sylvia Kouwenberg, Dorraine Reid, Jo-Anne Archibald, and Alison Dixon-Stone.

Seven members of the previous Board have been retained.

Education minister Karl Samuda made the announcement Wednesday (Sept 4) at a post-Cabinet press briefing at Jamaica House. The new Board will be in place for three years, effective immediately.

The EMCVPA has been at the centre of controversy since May after a female student made public claims that a male lecturer sexually harassed her.